MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING PERU ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT 124 January 29, 2025, 6:00 PM

CALL TO ORDER

The special meeting of the month of January of the Board of Education of Peru Elementary School District 124, LaSalle County, Illinois, was called to order in the Learning Resource Center at Parkside School by Board Vice-President Rob Ankiewicz, on Wednesday, January 29, 2025, at 6:00 p.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Vice-President Ankiewicz led the Board and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

ROLL CALL

PRESENT: Members John Atkins, Rob Ankiewicz, Alison Goode (attending remotely) Simon Kampwerth, Austin Taylor, and President Patti Leynaud (attending remotely). ABSENT: Josanne Bruins.

OTHERS PRESENT: Superintendent Jamie Craven and Ryan Linnig

MOTION: Moved by John Atkins, seconded by Simon Kampwerth, to approve the special meeting agenda of January 29, 2025. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Atkins, Kampwerth, Ankiewicz, Leynaud, Taylor, and Goode. NAYS: None. **The motion carried 6-0.**

PUBLIC COMMENT, CORRESPONDENCE AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

There was no public comment, correspondence or announcements at this time.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

MOTION: Moved by President Leynaud, seconded by Member Atkins, to adjourn to Executive Session at 6:02 p.m. for the discussion of information regarding the employment, performance, or dismissal of employees or district legal counsel; and discussion of information related to employee salaries, benefits, and issues related to collective bargaining; and discussion regarding denial of access to school property as it related to board policy 8:30. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Leynaud, Atkins, Ankiewicz, Taylor, Kampwerth, and Goode. NAYS: None. **The motion carried 6-0.**

RETURN TO REGULAR SESSION

MOTION: Moved by Member Atkins, seconded by Member Taylor, to return to Regular Session at 6:06 p.m. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Atkins, Taylor, Ankiewicz, Kampwerth, Goode, and Leynaud. NAYS: None. **The motion carried 6-0.**

ACTION ITEMS AFTER EXECUTIVE SESSION Employment of Superintendent of Schools

MOTION: Moved by President Leynaud, seconded by Member Kampweth to approve the recommendation to employ Ryan Linnig as the Superintendent of Schools commencing the 2025-2026 school year. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Leynaud, Kampwerth, Atkins, Taylor, Goode, and Ankiewicz. NAYS: None. The motion carried 6-0.

ADJOURNMENT	
MOTION: Moved by Member Taylor, second	ded by Member Ankiewicz, to adjourn at 6:07
p.m. AYE 6, NAY 0. The motion carried 6-	0.
Patti Leynaud, Board President	Megan Baltikauski, Board Secretary